Skip to main navigation Skip to main content

What We Do

The county attorney provides legal representation to the Shelby County Fiscal Court, elected county officials and all county agencies and departments.  The county attorney is also responsible for representing the state in Shelby District Court including the prosecution of all criminal, traffic and juvenile cases filed in that court as well as all dependency, neglect and abuse cases filed in Shelby Family Court. The office is also charged with preparing mental inquest petitions and warrants and guardianship/disability petitions filed in Shelby District Court. Additionally, the Shelby County Attorney has a child support collection office that pursues the collection of child support, the enforcement of child support orders and establishment of paternity.

​Important Information/Forms


​Shelby County Attorney

Shelby County Attorney Hart MegibbenHart Megibben

501 Main Street
Suite 10
Shelbyville, KY 40065

Phone: (502) 633-5850
Fax: (502) 633-7352

hmegibben@prosecutors.ky.gov

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday, 8:30am - 4:30pm

Closed all major holidays.

Administrative Assistants

Kim Hunter:
khunter@prosecutors.ky.gov

Karen Jeffries:
kjeffries@prosecutors.ky.gov

Lee Ann Gaither:
gaither@prosecutors.ky.gov

Assistant Attorneys

Melanie Brummer:
carroll@prosecutors.ky.gov
Traffic, Dependency/Abuse/Neglect, Disability and Child Support

Melinda Zeller:
mkzeller@prosecutors.ky.gov
Juvenile

Stuart Ulferts:
sulferts@prosecutors.ky.gov
Criminal